Its Monday! What Are You Reading? (2nd July)

2 Jul

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly bookish meme held on Book Journey by Sheila. It’s a great place to discuss your week in reading and see what others are reading too.

I havent taken part in this meme for a couple of weeks, ive just been so busy i havent had hardly any time to stop and take part, but life has calmed down again now!

Books Read

Over the past week i read four, yes four books! Thats some sort of record for me i think.

The first book i finished was The Opposite of Fate by Amy Tan. I really enjoyed this book, its about the authors life and books she has written. The only downside for me is that i havent read any of the authors works so for me i may have enjoyed it a bit more if i had. However, i now want to read her books!

The second book i finished was I Know You Got Soul by Jeremy Clarkson. I love the author on Topgear and i was really looking forward to his book. However i was a little disappointed as it just seemed that he just had opinions on various things and i didnt think it always flowed too well.

The third book i finished was Just a Kid, A Guard at the Nuremberg Trials by Emilio DiPalma. This is the true story of a man who was a guard at the Nuremberg Trials. I found this book very fascinating and i havent read anything like it before.

The fourth and final book i finished was Before and Gone by J.M. Pierce. This book was about a man who got abducted by aliens and then the end of the world happens, it was enjoyable towards the end, but i found the first half quite boring. Their is a sequal and I’m not yet sure if ill get it or not!

Reading Now

In book form I’m currently reading Secret Diary of a Demented Housewife by Niamh Greene. This book takes the form of a diary and spans a year in the life of a housewife. Its a chick lit book and quite funny, but i think i would enjoy it more if i was married with a couple of kids like the main character is. This was a book that once belonged to my mum and she enjoyed it a lot too.

On my kindle I’m currently reading Magical Quotes and Words of Wisdom from Harry Potter by Samuel Penny. The Harry Potter series are my favourite books of all time and this is a book of quotes from those. I am really enjoying it, especially remembering what context they are normally put in, but I’m not sure if a non-harry potter fan would enjoy it as much!

Next Up

Next up off my shelf is The Chocolate Lovers Club by Carole Matthews. I am a huge fan of her books, she is one of my favourite authors and her books never fail in making me laugh. I hope this is as good as all the others i have read.

SynopsisTHE CHOCOLATE LOVERS’ CLUB brings together four very different women with one thing in common: they can’t resist chocolate.  This is an irresistible novel for anyone who wishes they were a member! 

Lucy Lombard can’t resist it – rich, creamy, sweet, delicious chocolate. For her there’s nothing it won’t cure – from heartache to a headache – and she’s not alone.  Sharing her passion are three other addicts: Autumn, Nadia and Chantal.  Together they form The Chocolate Lovers’ Club.  They meet in their sanctuary, Chocolate Heaven, as often as they can, and with a cheating boyfriend who promises he’ll change, a flirtatious boss, a gambling husband and a loveless marriage, there’s always plenty to discuss…

Books Brought

None this week, i have a couple that i will order soon though!

So, what are you reading?

 

6 Responses to “Its Monday! What Are You Reading? (2nd July)”

  1. Sheila (Book Journey) July 2, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

    The Harry Potter book sounds wonderful! I may need to add that one to my collection!

    • shelovestoread July 3, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

      Its a brilliant book, i keep dipping in and out of it at the minute 🙂

  2. Kristin T. July 2, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    The Chocolate Lover’s Club was cute – a little slow in the beginning, but then it really picks up. I haven’t read anything else by her, but I do want to check out her other books.

    Have a great week!
    Kristin @ Always With a Book

    • shelovestoread July 3, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

      a couple of this authors books are like that, however i always end up loving them by the end!

      hope you have a great week too 🙂

  3. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out July 3, 2012 at 6:57 am #

    The Secret Diary of a Demented Mum would suit me! I read The Chocolate Lovers Clib and its sequel quite a while ago but I remember enjoying them

    • shelovestoread July 3, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

      hehe, its quite a funny book! I hope i enjoy them as much as you did 🙂

Leave a Reply

