June 2012 Book Round Up

3 Jul

This is the first time in a long time that I’m not up to date on my reading reviews! I hate being behind and playing catch up, but I’ve not had too much time to get my thoughts down. However, I’ve still had quite a good bookish month despite being so busy. I read 7 books, which for me is about average per month. I havent added all my books that ive read this month onto goodreads, but on their I’m onto 41 books and 55% of the way through the challenge. I am still four books ahead, even though i havent added the rest on yet!

Books Read

39)The Difference A Day Makes – Carole Matthews (paperback book, 2010 book) I really enjoyed this book, it is by one of my favourite authors and this book was really good too.  good refreshing chick lit book.

40)Around the World in Eighty Days – Jules Verne (kindle book, 2012 book) This book was picked for the reading circle over on the BCF. I was surprised as to how much i enjoyed this book and how much i got into the story.

41)The Virgin Student – Virgin Student (kindle e-book, 2012 book) This was a collection of blog excerpts made into a book, i enjoyed it, but the subject matter was a bit different.

42)Marine at War – M. Micheal. I downloaded this as it was free and i have to say that i didn’t like it unfortunately. I just felt like it rambled on and didn’t have any structure. I also found the subject horrific and upsetting.

43)The Opposite of Fate – Amy Tan (hardback book, 2012 book) This book was picked as a read for the Rory challenge. This was a memoir that went into detail about the author’s life and works. I want to read more of her books now

44) I Know You Got Soul – Clarkson (paperback, 2010 book) I had this book as i really liked the presenter and loved him on TopGear. However, i didnt enjoy his book to much.

45)Just a Kid, A Guard at the Nuremberg Trials by Emilio DiPalma. This was fantastic. I really enjoyed this memoir, i love everything about the second world war and it was fantastic to have yet another perspective on this horrible event.

Books carried over

Paperback – I’m currently reading Secret Diary of a Demented Housewife by Niamh Green. Its a chick lit book that is quite funny in places and would probably appeal to lots of housewives everywhere.

Kindle Before and Gone by J.M. Pierce. This is a sci-fi book that talks about being abducted by aliens and then the end of the world happening. Not too sure if i will read more in the series

Bed Book – Still reading Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling. I’m now at the part where Harry figures out the egg and im really getting into the story now.

Reading Challenges

  • Rory Gilmore – The Opposite of Fate
  • 1001 Books You Must Read – Around the World in Eighty Days
  • 1001 Childrens Books – Around the World in Eighty Days

Books Brought

Apart from all the kindle freebies, I brought 2 books this month.

  • New Moon – Stephenie Meyer
  • The Welsh Girl – Peter Ho Davies

 

4 Responses to “June 2012 Book Round Up”

  1. beckyday6 July 3, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    Wow, once again I am very impressed at the amount you’ve gotten read, it puts me to shame! 😛
    I’ll be very interested to see what you think of New Moon, and congrats on completing some of the books on your challenge lists as well. 🙂

    • shelovestoread July 3, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

      thank you, my excuse is i have no life hehe, i do wish i could read even more to get my TBR pile down!

      I cant wait to read new moon, i think it might be a while before i get there, but i really enjoyed twilight so im hoping this one is as good 🙂

  2. cricketmuse July 3, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

    Wow! You’ve been busy! I am interested in the Just a Kid memoir. Do you think readers are tired of WWII books? Once this present group is gone (those in their eighties) the true well-remembered memoirs will no longer be first hand.

    • shelovestoread July 4, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

      thank you 🙂 The Just a Kid memoir was very good, id recommend it. I hope that people never forget the horrors of what happened. It will be such a shame when these people pass away and no longer can share there stories.

Leave a Reply

