Its Monday! What Are You Reading? (23rd July)

23 Jul

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly bookish meme held onBook Journeyby Sheila. It’s a great place to discuss your week in reading and see what others are reading too.

Books Read

I read one book last week, Across A Bridge of Dreams by Lesley Downer. I got sent this book as part of the Hardback Challenge by the Transworld publishers. This book was very good, its set in Japan and i love all things about this culture and this book was so good, it just hooked me in. A great read.

Reading Now

In book form I’m currently reading The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum. This for me is a re-read, i want to see if im going to enjoy it as much as i did as a child. So far i am and im also enjoying the lovely illustrations in my copy.

On my Kindle I’m currently reading Dracula by Bram Stoker. I am so hooked on this book. I’ve got really into reading this and ive never been so scared by a book in my life, but its a good kind of scared. I also like how its written, with diary entries and letters.

Next Up

Next up off my massive TBR is The Dresskeeper by Mary Naylus. This is a young adult book and ive been looking forward to it for a while.

Synopsis – This title is suitable for children of ages 12 years & over. When Picky’s Mum forces her to look after Gran, who has dementia, Picky is accidentally transported back to the year 1685, where a man in a wig insists she is someone called Amelia and tries to kill her. Managing to get the dress off just in time, Picky returns to the present with the dress covered in blood. Who is Amelia? Is she dead? Will wearing the other dresses in the chest take Picky back in time too? And does she dare put herself in danger again?

Books Brought

None again this week!

So, What are you Reading?

12 Responses to “Its Monday! What Are You Reading? (23rd July)”

  1. Rebecca July 23, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    Across a Bridge of Dreams looks like a good read. I will have to check it out. Enjoy your current selections!
    Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate

    • shelovestoread July 24, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

      thank you, it was a very good book and very informative at times too πŸ™‚

  2. Sheila (Book Journey) July 23, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

    We are reading the Wonderful Wizard Of Oz in October as out classic read for our book club. I have never read it before.

    • shelovestoread July 24, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

      its very good so far, but its quite short so i cant see it lasting all that long with me! hehe

  3. Lindsey July 24, 2012 at 3:17 am #

    The Dresskeeper sounds interesting. I hadn’t heard of it before today!

    • shelovestoread July 24, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

      it sounds good, i think i originally came across it on a blog!

  4. Jo July 24, 2012 at 4:47 am #

    Okay, now I’m in the mood to re-read the Wizard of Oz books and start Dracula. Neither of which are in the plan. Hmph. =)

    The Dresskeeper sounds intriguing.

    • shelovestoread July 24, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

      hehe sorry about that πŸ˜› I’m enjoying both of them though πŸ™‚

  5. Jennifer July 25, 2012 at 12:08 am #

    Across the Bridge of Dreams sounds really really good. I love Eastern culture, it’s fascinating to me. And is there a better way to learn about things than by reading about them? I don’t think so πŸ™‚

    Have a great week of reading!

    http://therelentlessreader.blogspot.com/

    • shelovestoread July 25, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

      exactly my point, it was a brilliant book πŸ™‚

  6. Jenna@betweenthebind July 25, 2012 at 4:25 am #

    Happy reading this week! πŸ™‚

    Check out what I’m reading at Between the Bind.

Leave a Reply

