July 2012 Book Round Up

1 Aug

So another month and I’m still not up to date with my reviews. I am only two behind, but i like to write one every couple of days not all at once so that is probably why. I’ve also had a fantastic reading month having read 9 books, i just cant seem to stop reading at the minute! I havent added the other two onto goodreads but so far i have read 52 books towards my target of 75 for the year, which makes my goal 69%. Not bad going i dont think! I am 9 books ahead of target, or 11% ahead.

Books Read

46)Before and Gone (The Chosen) – J. M. Pierce (kindle e-book, 2012 book) This book was ok, end of the world type book, but i couldnt really get into it, i dont think i will continue the story.

47) Confessions of a Demented Housewife – Niamh Green (paperback book, 2010 book) I enjoyed this chick lit book, but at times i found it a little unbelievable and far fetched, still a good beach book.

48)The Chocolate Lovers Club – Carole Matthews (paperback book, 2010 book) I really enjoyed this book, a fantastic chick lit book, ive just brought the follow up book and cant wait to read it

49)Magical Quotes and Words of Wisdom From Harry Potter – Samuel Penny (kindle e-book, 2012 book) This is a collection of quotes from the Harry Potter series, it was ok for a superfan like me, but im not sure if non fans would like it.

50)My House Looks Like A Fairyland Crime Scene -Ed Ergenzinger (kindle e-book, 2012 book) This book is a memoir of a dad with two daughters, it was ok but nothing too special.

51)Customers Say The Stupidest Things – Adam (kindle e-book, 2012 book) I didnt like this book at all, such a let down for me.

52)Across A Bridge of Dreams – Lesley Downer ~(hardback book, 2012 book) I got this book for a challenge and i really loved it. A fantastic insight into Japanese culture

53)The Wonderful Wizard of Oz – L. Frank Baum (hardback book, 2o1o book) This for me was a re-read and i really enjoyed it a second time around.

54)The Dresskeeper – Mary Nalus (paperback book, 2010 book) A lovely young adult book that features time travel and some serious issues, I really enjoyed this book.

Books carried over

Paper book – I’ve just started Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell. I think im going to like this book, but i think it will take me a long time to read.

Kindle Book – I’m reading Dracula by Bram Stoker. I’m really loving this book, its so scary but in a good way, i cant believe that ive left it until now to read it!

Bed Book – Still reading Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling. I’m now up to the part just before the third task.

Reading Challenges

none this month, really need to work on them a bit more in August.

Books Brought

The Report – Jessica Francis Kane
The Complete Polysyllabic Spree – Nick Hornby
About A Boy – Nick Hornby
Across a Bridge of Dreams – Lesley Downer

2 Responses to “July 2012 Book Round Up”

  1. ocdreader August 1, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    You did great this month! I have been posting 3 reviews a week, not sure if I can keep that pace up, but I am a week and a half ahead – yay! I am trying to increase that lead a little bit more before I try to take on something long. Though this week is looking like a 2-booker…I may be slowing down. The pressure, the stress what a hobby eh? 🙂
    Best for a wonderful August!

    • shelovestoread August 2, 2012 at 7:38 am #

      Thank you and well done you on being a week and a half ahead 🙂 Thats what ive been doing, so if i pick up some bigger books now i dont think it will put me behind too much. Who would have thought reading could need so much planning hehe.

      Have a great August too 🙂

Leave a Reply

