Booking Through Thursday – Picking and Choosing

2 Aug

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly bookish meme held over on Booking Through Thursday!

Two questions about selecting your books.

Pooch asks:

Overall, what factor most influences your choice of your next read?

Sefcug asks:

What is it that makes you want to read a book by an author you have never read before?

Well i have a prettystrange way of deciding what I’m reading next. When i buy a book it goes right to the end of my TBR pile. It then moves slowly along the shelves until it becomes the book thats been on my TBR the longest. It is that book that i read next. I do know that it means that i wont read some of my books for a long time, but for me this system works, otherwise id just read the newest book everytime. I am now trying to cut down the ammount of books i have so that i can spend less time waiting to read!

I dont often pick a book by an author, i pick a book depending on what it is about and hopefully ill enjoy it 🙂

12 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Picking and Choosing”

  1. Juli @ Universe in Words August 2, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    That’s actually a pretty good way because that way you at least know you’ll read the books you bought. I just get attracted to a book, buy it and then hope to not lose it among the other books in my room!
    My BTT
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    • shelovestoread August 6, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

      Yeah thats why i do it, otherwise id end up feeling very bad about all the books ive ‘gone off’ as such! Hopefully one day ill have a smaller tbr and will get to read my books sooner 🙂

  2. on thehomefrontandbeyond August 2, 2012 at 11:19 am #

    interesting method – I am not sure I could it

  3. Michael August 2, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    While I can see the merit of your system, I’m far too impulsive and check out far too many books from the library for it to necessarily work for me. 🙂

    • shelovestoread August 6, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

      i dont use the library at the minute, just because i have over 400 books to read at home and would feel so guilty about that 🙂

  4. melissaboyettbrinkley August 2, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    interesting method — I might have to try it.

  5. Tribute Books Mama August 2, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    Sounds like a good system for you.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2012/08/booking-through-thursday.html

  6. ocdreader August 2, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    I am still so impressed by this TBR shelf of yours. I can’t do it. I am either too emotional or too spoiled. I read what “calls” to me, which I will admit are a lot of newer ones on the shelf, but not always! Happy Thursday!

    • shelovestoread August 6, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

      thank you, i just would love to get my tbr down a bit and then i can have a bit more freedom to choose what id like 🙂
      happy (late) thursday to you too 🙂

Leave a Reply

