The Wonderful Wizard of Oz – L. Frank Baum

2 Aug

Started – 20/7/12

Finished – 25/7/12

Format – Hardback Book

 

Challenges – Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge

1001 Childrens Books You Must Read

 

Synopsis  – One of the true classics of American literature, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz has stirred the imagination of young and old alike for over four generations. Originally published in 1900, it was the first truly American fairy tale, as Baum crafted a wonderful out of such familiar items as a cornfield scarecrow, a mechanical woodman, and a humbug wizard who used old-fashioned hokum to express that universal theme, “There’s no place like home.”

Follow the adventures of young Dorothy Gale and her dog, Toto, as their Kansas house is swept away by a cyclone and they find themselves in a strange land called Oz. Here she meets the Munchkins and joins the Scarecrow, Tin Woodman, and the Cowardly Lion on an unforgettable journey to the Emerald City, where lives the all-powered Wizard of Oz.

My Thoughts – I’ve owned this book for years and years and its always sat on my shelf. I read this once when i was a lot younger and i thought that i woud read it again now that im older. I was hoping that i enjoyed the story as much as i did as a child.

This book is the story of Dorothy, who lives in Kansas. It is the most boring grey place and she doesnt really like living there. Then during a cyclone Dorothy and her dog Toto are swept away to a place called Oz. This is the most brightly coloured land and it is there that she meets her new friends, the brainless scarecrow, the tin woodman with not heart and the lion with no courage. Together they want to go to see The Wizard of Oz to ask for the things that they want.

Now i felt that parts of this book was quite scary for a child and sometimes quite shocking. for example, the flying monkeys and the wicked witch. As a child this really scared me and i think that this is what put me off reading it again when i was younger. I also felt that when Dorothy was asked to kill the witch it was a little bit shocking. Its not like modern stories and for a little girl to have to kill somebody, it just didnt sit right with me.

However, i did enjoy the story and the journey through the land of Oz. I really got into the story and really fell in love with the characters. I loved the cowerdly lion i think he was my favourite character. I think that there was an important message behind this book with the no brains, heart or courage. I think its kind of like the lion already had his courage he just needed to believe that he already had it.

The only problem i had with this is the musical that was made based on the book. I kept getting ‘follow the yellow brick road’ stuck in my head at various points of the story.

This is a very enjoyable read, not only for children but for adults too.

Rating – 4/5

5 Responses to “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz – L. Frank Baum”

  1. beckyday6 August 3, 2012 at 1:22 am #

    I realllllly want to read this book! The film is one of my fave’s and I love the metaphor’s and messages in it, and it will be interesting to see how the film compares.
    Nice review! 🙂

    • shelovestoread August 6, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

      🙂 Its really good, different to the film but in a good way 🙂 Hope you get to read it soon 🙂

  2. cricketmuse August 4, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    I never got into the series. I really wanted to, but it didn’t work for me. Narnia is about the only magical kid lit I like. BtW I nominated you for Very Inspiring Blogger–I love how you take on books!
    Happy Pages,
    CricketMuse

    • shelovestoread August 6, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

      I’m not sure if i will read the rest of the series or not! I’ve never read Narnia but it is at the top of my wishlist 🙂 Thank you, ill have to check out your post 🙂

      • cricketmuse August 6, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

        I didn’t discover Narnia until high school. I think I would have enjoyed it on a whole different level as a kid. It’s a series I don’t mind returning to now and then.

Leave a Reply

