It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (6th August)

6 Aug

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly bookish meme held onBook Journey by Sheila. It’s a great place to discuss your week in reading and see what others are reading too.

Books Read

Over the past week i finished two books.Β  The first i finished was The Dresskeeper by Mary Nalus. This is a young adult book about time travel and has some serious messages behind it too. I enjoyed this book and would definitely recommend it to everyone.

I also finished Dracula by Bram Stoker on my kindle. While this has taken me a little while to read ive really enjoyed every minute of it. It’s a brilliantly scary book and i cant believe that i left it so long to read. A fantastic classic book.

Reading Now

In book form I’m currently reading The Queen’s Secret by Victoria Lamb. I got sent this as part of the Historical Hardback Challenge from the transworld publishers. I’m not very far into it, but im hoping that its going to be good.

On my kindle I’m currently reading Don’t Shoot! I’m Just The Avon Lady by Birdie Jaworski. I downloaded this as it was free and it is a memoir about the author’s life selling Avon and her life too. I’m 50/50 about this book.

Next Up

I’ve already started my next book, Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell. I really have enjoyed it so far, but as im taking part in a reading challenge this has gone on the back burner for a little while.

Books Brought

I got two books in the post this week, The Queen’s Secret by Victoria Lamb (see above) and also Cranberry Queen by Kathleen Demarco.

Synopsis – Diana Moore is 33 and about, so her Aunt Margaret predicts, to have the best three years she’s ever had. Which is a relief since tomorrow she’s facing The Biggest Day of her Life so far. A friend’s wedding, to which her ex (aka The Monster) complete with New Girlfriend, is also invited. And Diana, brown of hair, nine of foot and wide of thing is going – alone. But somehow Aunt Margaret’s got it wrong. And next day all thoughts of weddings, exes and New Girlfriends seem absurdly irrelevant. For Diana is really alone. The car containing her mother, father and only brother has collided with a large truck on a small road. And from that moment on everything she’s know is changed. Including Diana…

So, what are you reading?

8 Responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (6th August)”

  1. ocdreader August 6, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    That is a great list of books! I could use a little historical fiction right about now, but I just started a zombie book which has hooked me – super gross but fun so far. πŸ™‚

    • shelovestoread August 7, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

      I’m loving my historical fiction at the minute πŸ™‚ im not normally a fan od zombie books, but i read one this year and it wasnt too bad πŸ™‚

  2. Brunette LIbrarian August 6, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    Happy reading this week!!! A wide array but they look really fun!

    Check out what I’m reading and enter for a giveaway!

  3. Jennifer August 6, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    I have never read Dracula and I don’t know why not! I’ll get to it someday πŸ™‚

    • shelovestoread August 7, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

      Its such a good read, give it a go someday πŸ™‚

  4. Lindsey August 7, 2012 at 4:12 am #

    Cranberry Queen sounds good – I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

