Booking Through Thursday – Branching Out

9 Aug

A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Amy and Sarah both asked about genres:

Amy asks:

Name a book you love in a genre you normally don’t care for. What made you decide to read it? Did it make you want to try more in that genre?

Bookish Sarah asks an interesting assortment of questions:

What genre do you avoid reading and why?

Well i dont normally read classics. I know its terrible, I’m a self confessed bookworm and i havent read many classics. This is because i had a bad experience, namely The Ambassadors by Henry James and it really put me off reading anymore.

However, i decided to pick up Dracula by Bram Stoker. I enjoyed it so much and got so involved with it i decided that maybe all classics arent so bad after all. I’m now planning on reading more classics, so maybe i shouldnt judge a genre by one book!

As to the genre question i donr avoid many genres my tastes are quite electic. I dont enjoy romance novels too much, there needs to be more story to a book than just the romance side. I havent really read much horror either but that doesnt always appeal to me.

11 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Branching Out”

  1. Gigi Ann August 9, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    I do read some classic, but not all. I don’t read horror either.

  2. smallblondehippy August 9, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    I’m with you on the classics. I was forced to read them at school and that put me off. Maybe I’ll read more one day. Here’s mine: Small Blonde Hippy

    • shelovestoread August 9, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

      i had to read a couple in school too and wasnt a fan either!

  3. gautami tripathy August 9, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

    I cannot read Paranormal stuff.

    Here is my BTT post!

  4. Juli @ Universe in Words August 9, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    I usually really like classics, but sometimes they are just too much. I haven’t read Dracula yet, but I really should. I chose a YA novel, which is a genre I usually don’t read!
    My BTT
    Juli @ Universe in Words

  5. Michael August 9, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    Being a military kid, I missed the required reading of certain “classics” and got to read other books or some twice. I sought out Catcher in the Rye and To Kill A Mockingbird on my own and I enjoyed them more than I might have had they been required reading.

    That said, no one will ever convince me that Lord of the Flies is a great book. Never, never, never. 🙂

    I do like some of the classics, but I think I can get just as much meaning and enjoyment out of a book that some high-brow English teachers might out of the accepted classic….

  6. laurelrainsnow August 9, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    Oh, I forgot to mention horror in my post…definitely not a fan! lol

    But here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

  7. Tribute Books Mama August 9, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    Horror is one I don’t like either.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2012/08/booking-through-thursday_9.html

  8. The Character Connection August 9, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    Read this book also and not a fan of horror.

    http://thecharacterconnection.blogspot.com/2012/08/booking-through-thursday.html

Leave a Reply

