August 2012 Book Round Up

1 Sep

So another month gone and I’ve finally caught up on all my book reviews. I’m now trying to get into the habit of reviewing a book as soon as possible after finishing it in order to try to get all my thoughts down and so i don’t forget about it. This month, I read four books which is the smallest amount i have read in a year, but I’m not too fussed. I’ve already bypassed the amount of books i read in 2010 (56 books) and i am well on target to reach my goal of 75 books for the year. According to Goodreads, i have read 58 books towards my goal of 75 books. I am 8 books or 11% ahead of my target for the year.

Books Read

55)Dracula – Bram Stoker (Kindle e-book, 2011 book) I am so gutted that i didn’t read this book sooner, it’s on my list of all time favourite books now. Its scary, creepy but all in a good way. A brilliant book.

56)Don’t Shoot! I’m Just The Avon Lady – Birdie Jaworski (Kindle e-book, 2012 book) This was a book that i downloaded as it was free and my former mother in law was an Avon rep. To be honest, i didn’t enjoy it all that much, it just wasnt a book for me.

57) Shrinkage – Luke Young (Kindle e-book, 2012 book) I downloaded this book as the synopsis sounded good and it was! A hilarious book and it was a real page turn. Highly recommended reading.

58) The Queen’s Secret – Victoria Lamb (Hardback book, 2012 book) I got sent this book from the Transworld publishers as part of a reading challenge. This book is set in the time period of Queen Elizabeth I and its fabulous. I really enjoyed this book and couldn’t put it down. I’m really looking forward to reading the next book when it is released.

Books carried over

Paper book – I’m currently reading Notes on a Small Island by Bill Bryson. This is for the September reading circle on the BCF and I’m really enjoying it. Its my first book by this author and I’m definitely going to be reading more.

Paper book – I’m also reading Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell. Although I’ve been reading this for a month i am really enjoying it. I have been reading it alongside other books just so i don’t get overwhelmed by the size of the book. This book is very good though.

Kindle e-book – On my kindle I’m currently reading Alana Weatherbee #1 by Jack Sorenson. I’m enjoying this book, but not as much as I’d like to be. It’s very similar in some ways to the Harry Potter Series and i just can’t get that out of my head.

Bed Book – I’m still reading Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling. I’m now up to the part where the truth about Moody comes to light. I’ve only got another 50 pages or so to go so ill finish this book in the next month.

Reading Challenges

  • Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge – Dracula
  • BBC Top 200 Books – Dracula
  • 1001 Books You Must Read – Dracula
  • 501 Must Read Books – Dracula
  • World Book Night 2012 – Dracula

Books Brought

Cranberry Queen – Kathleen Demarco  (one from my wishlist)
The Queen’s Secret – Victoria Lamb (a gift from the Transworld publishers)
Beauty – Lisa Daley ( a giveaway win)
The Chocolate Lovers Diet – Carole Matthews (one from my wishlist)
Notes From A Small Island – Bill Bryson (a book for a reading circle)

7 Responses to “August 2012 Book Round Up”

  1. Leona Olson September 1, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    What a good list. I have some of these on my list aso. If I do not do the reviews, I get behind and have problems remembering a lot of details even with my notes. Your round–up is such a good idea.
    Leona

    • shelovestoread September 1, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

      Thank you, ive really enjoyed most of the books ive read this month. I love writing these so if i need to look back on something its easy to find, and also its nice to share with others 🙂

  2. beckyday6 September 1, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    Wow looks like you did a lot of reading. 🙂
    I don’t mean to sound nit-picky but, I didn’t think Dracula was on the Rory Gilmore Challenge? I checked for it recently thinking that it must be on there but couldn’t find it, couldn’t believe it! So what I’m asking is, have I copied the list wrong from your blog or is it not actually on there? Cause if I’ve got it wrong I need to change it! 😛

    • shelovestoread September 1, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 I’ve just checked and its not on the list, i have no idea why i wrote it down for the Rory list, thanks for pointing it out for me and i’ll change it

      happy reading 😀

      • beckyday6 September 1, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

        Ohh right I see haha. I totally understand why you put it on there, because it seems like it SHOULD be on there. I mean, It’s such a classic book! Tut tut Rory. 😛
        Cool thanks. Just wanted to check I hadn’t got mine wrong either. 🙂

  3. Sally September 2, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    Wow so many books already and writing reviews straight after – I am in awe!

    • shelovestoread September 2, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 I do try to review as soon as possible after finishing a book, otherwise i forget what ive read and wanted to say about the book!

Leave a Reply

