Its Monday! What Are You Reading? (3rd September)

3 Sep

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly bookish meme held on Book Journey by Sheila. It’s a great place to discuss your week in reading and see what others are reading too.

I’ve not really done a lot this week life wise, but i have been doing a lot of little jobs around the house and lots and lots of reading!

Books Read

I read one book in the last week, Notes From a Small Island by Bill Bryson which was for a reading challenge. I really enjoyed this book which is about an American author who travels around Great Britain by public transport. I thought this book was very good and really got into the british culture.

Reading Now

I’m still reading Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell. I’m now halfway through this massive book and its now becoming one of those books that i know I’m going to love. I’ve warmed a lot more to Scarlett now and i cant wait to see how the rest of the story unfolds.

Next Up

Next up is a book on my kindle, Alana Weatherbee by Jack Sorenson. I have read a little bit of this book but so far im not sure if im going to like it or not. It’s very similar to Harry Potter in ways and im not too sure if that’s a good thing. The HP are my favourite books ever so its a big ask for me!

SynopsisFifteen year old Alana Weatherbee leaves home for the first time to study at the School of Shines of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Finding herself the school outcast, she gains acceptance by becoming champion of the Labyrinth Games in spite of her teammates, the school bullies. Then Alana meets Logan, another outcast and, together, they fight to save their world from the evil Book of Spells.

Books Brought

I didnt buy this book i was sent this by the author as a free gift. This book was Friends With Partial Benefits by Luke Young. I read one of his books a couple of weeks ago and loved it, so I’m hoping this book is as good as the other!

Synopsis Jillian Grayson is a disillusioned divorcée and best-selling romance novelist who suddenly can’t write a chapter without her hunky male heartthrob suffering ED, an STD, or even worse. Brian Nash is a tennis-obsessed college senior who’s unlucky in love and the roommate and best friend of Jillian’s son, Rob. When Rob brings Brian home for Spring Break, and Brian meets the surprisingly young and tennis passionate Jillian, their shared interest quickly develops into an intense mutual attraction. After nearly giving in to their feelings, they hatch a plan, while under the influence (of something more than just the perfect Miami night), to be Friends With Partial Benefits, complete with rules to define the boundaries. Will the lonely pair continue with this distinctive relationship, actually explore their desires, or discover all of it is a really bad idea?

So, What Are You Reading?

8 Responses to “Its Monday! What Are You Reading? (3rd September)”

  1. laurelrainsnow September 3, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

    I read GWTW about three times when I was young…and now have it as a reread. Haven’t started yet, but saw the movie a couple of weeks ago, just to get me into it.

    Enjoy!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

    • shelovestoread September 3, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

      🙂 hopefully youll enjoy it as much as you did before, it really is a wonderful book 🙂

  2. Leona Olson September 3, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    “Notes From a Small Island by Bill Bryson” I saw this last week, possibly on your site. Finishing today The Last Prophet by Jeff W. Horton and about half-way through on Thunder on the Plains by Rosanne Bittner.

    • shelovestoread September 3, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

      Notes is a very good book i really enjoyed it. Thunder on the Plains sounds good ill have to have a look at that!

  3. therelentlessreader September 3, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

    I’m starting GWTW very soon as part of a read along. I’m excited to read it again 🙂

    Enjoy your week and happy reading!
    The Relentless Reader

  4. Shan September 3, 2012 at 5:32 pm #

    I’ve never read GWTW, I should probably get on that (haven’t even seen the movie!) I keep meaning to read Notes From A Small Island as well. Thanks for the reminder! Have a great week!

    • shelovestoread September 4, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

      I havent seen the movie, but I will do once I’ve finished this fabulous book! Notes is a fantastic book too, hope you enjoy them as much as i did!

Leave a Reply

