Reading Out Of My Comfort Zone

4 Sep

I have to say I’m quite a creature of habit. If i find a genre of books i like i tend to read a lot of them. Back in 2010, i started to get back into reading in a big way, and decided my poison of choice would be chick lit. Nowadays, i don’t like it at all, i find the stories very predictable and i cant pick them up very well. I do have a few on my TBR shelves and i will read them as i have spent money on them.

However I’m now thinking i should stop with the comfy reads in my life and start reading some more challenging books. Why now might you say? Well over the last month I’ve read a couple of ‘classic’ books and despite my worries i have loved them, so why don’t I read more of them?

I’m currently just over halfway through Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell and this is a book I wouldn’t have even considered a couple of years ago. Its massive and that would have put me off. But it’s so good, I cant believe that i havent picked it up before!

So here is my list of books that I could have been put off with, but ended up loving!

So, what books were you surprised by?

11 Responses to “Reading Out Of My Comfort Zone”

  1. beckyday6 September 4, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    I thought the exact same thing about classics until I picked up Wuthering Heights! 🙂

  2. ocdreader/Elisa September 4, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    I started back to reading with chick lit and historical romance years ago. Now I mix up my genres to keep things “fresh”. 🙂 You are MUCH better about digging into those classics than I am though, I am inspired and impressed.

    • shelovestoread September 4, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

      You have the same sort of book beginings as me and i like to mix things up a bit now too 🙂 and thanks, but its only been the last year that ive been able to read the classics 🙂

  3. justonemonkeytyping September 4, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

    I originally felt the same way about classics, but then I read ‘East of Eden’ by John Steinbeck which completely changed my mind about them. Admittedly, I’ve read some classics which have been long-winded and quite frankly, boring (*cough* On the Road), but there are so many fantastic books out there which have survived the trial of time for a very good reason. Best of luck with your reading adventures! 🙂

    • shelovestoread September 5, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

      I’ve not read that one, I’ve read Of Mice and Men, but not his others. I dont like the long winded ones either, i end up skim reading and not enjoying the story. Thank you, and same to you 🙂

  4. cricketmuse September 5, 2012 at 3:44 am #

    Classics grow on you. I have a difficult time reading mainstream after being on a classic groove–like going from Haagen-Daaz to Popsicles–the flavor difference is quite noticeable.

    • shelovestoread September 5, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

      Maybe i’ll end up like that and end up loving the classics even more 🙂

  5. Briana September 12, 2012 at 3:22 am #

    When I was in fourth grade I basically had to be bullied into reading Anne of Green Gables. It immediately became my favorite book, and I read it about ten times in a row. Sort of awkward.

    • shelovestoread September 12, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

      I’ve read the first one in that series many years ago, i want to read them all though 🙂

Leave a Reply

