Booking through Thursday – School Books

6 Sep

We all had to read things in school that we didn’t like … but what
about something you read for a class that you ended up liking (or
loving)? An author you discovered that you might not have found? A
genre you hadn’t thought about?

In fairness most of the books that i read while i was in school i did really enjoy. I read Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck and really enjoyed this story. I’ve recently just brought the book again to enjoy. While in secondary school i also read two Shakespeare plays, Macbeth and Romeo and Juliet and i really enjoyed these.

When i did my A levels i read Harry Potter, which i loved and also Hamlet which is now my favourite Shakespeare play. I did read Tom Browns School Days and this book i really didnt like!

18 Responses to “Booking through Thursday – School Books”

  1. on thehomefrontandbeyond September 6, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    School makes you expand your horizons when it comes to books doesn’t it? My favourite author introduced to me at school is Margaret Atwood

    • shelovestoread September 7, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

      I’ve not read any of her books yet but i do have a couple on my shelf and wishlist 🙂

  2. Ann September 6, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

    I had to really think about this one, it’s been quite a while since I was in school, but I came up with a few I remembered reading and enjoying back in my schooldays.

    • shelovestoread September 7, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

      🙂 i loved reading while i was at school 🙂

  3. laurelrainsnow September 6, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    I didn’t mention Shakespeare in my post, but his work was definitely assigned. Some I enjoyed more than others, but the famous lines are memorable.

    Here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

    • shelovestoread September 7, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

      same here, i love some more than i do the others 🙂

  4. wcs53 September 6, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    Good answer. I never chose Shakespeare either, but Macbeth was the one of his I enjoyed the most. Harry Potter wasn’t even written when I was in high school! My BTT:
    http://wcs53.wordpress.com/2012/09/06/booking-through-thursday-school-books-september-6/

    • shelovestoread September 7, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

      🙂 We only studied the first Harry Potter which was really good for me as a Harry Potter fan 🙂

  5. Michael September 6, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    I always enjoyed Shakespeare as well in school. Took two college classes on his works. Great stuff

    • shelovestoread September 7, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

      I’ve still got some of his works to read and i cant wait 🙂

  6. Tribute Books Mama September 6, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

    I also read Shakespeare in high school.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2012/09/booking-through-thursday.html

  7. Vicki September 6, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    I don’t remember having to read any classics in school, but I’m sure I did.
    Here Is My BTT

  8. City Girl Who Loves to Read September 6, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

    I was introduced to the classics in school, I always liked reading.

    http://citygirlwholovestoread.blogspot.com/2012/09/booking-through-thursday.html

    • shelovestoread September 7, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

      me too, i was an avid book fan even back then 🙂

  9. elizabethwillse September 6, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

    Huh, interesting to see the perspective from England. How old are kids doing A-Levels?

    • shelovestoread September 7, 2012 at 7:07 pm #

      A levels are normally sat between ages 16-18, but they arent compulsary and they are kind of an extension of school 🙂

Leave a Reply

