Race For Life

12 Sep

Yesterday I took part in the Cancer Research Race For Life. For those people who don’t know what it is it’s a 5k race in which you can walk, jog or run and the objective is to race as much money for cancer research as possible.

I went with some friends and we all wore out t-shirts from the organisation to which we belong. Most people also wear something pink so I wore some rather lovely pink running trousers!

People are also encouraged to take part in memory of people who have lost their fight against cancer and those that are still fighting too. I ran this in memory of my Nan who sadly passed away in July 2011 after a 20 year battle with the disease.

The atmosphere was absolutely incredible and there were around 5000 people there taking part and also supporting the runners. Although I didn’t run I did jog and finished the race.

Next year i will take part again and will try to raise more money!

5 Responses to “Race For Life”

  1. beckyday6 September 12, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    Well done you for taking part! 🙂 It’s trusts like this that restore my faith in humanity, as opposed to say…The Only Way Is Essex. 😛

    How long did it take you to complete? Were you walking or jogging?

    • shelovestoread September 14, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 I’ve never watched The Only Way is Essex and dont really plan too hehe.

      It took me an hour as i walked but next year i plan on jogging 🙂

      • beckyday6 September 14, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

        Wow that’s really great! Sounds like Plan. 🙂

  2. ocdreader/Elisa September 12, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    That is awesome! I haven’t run in one of those in a long time, I really should – thanks for posting. 🙂

    • shelovestoread September 14, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

      🙂 Thank you i cant wait to do it again next year 🙂

Leave a Reply

