Its Monday! What Are You Reading? (1st October)

1 Oct

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly bookish meme held on Book Journey by Sheila. It’s a great place to discuss your week in reading and see what others are reading too.

I didnt take part last week as i hadnt actually read anything new. However, this week ive really been reading loads and my mojo seems to be making a massive return!

Books Read

I  read two books over the last week. The first book i read was The King’s Spy by Andrew Swanson. I really enjoyed the plot of this book. It was set in the English civil war and has themes of mystery and code breaking in it. I read this in hardback form as a gift from the transworld publishers.

The second book i finished was Friends With Partial Benefits by Luke Young. I got sent this e-book as a gift from the author. This was another book that i enjoyed. Its quite a racey book and this cant really be left about for my nan to read but a very enjoyable book.

Reading Now

At the minute I’m currently reading Change of Heart by Jodi Picoult. I am a huge fan of this authors books and so far this one is not disappointing either. i do think though its going to be a bit of a tear jerker towards the end!

Next Up

Next up is a free book that i downloaded, Mom You Just Broke Facebook by Jay Rivera. I’m not too sure what this book will be like.

SynopsisFrom the funny to the downright bizarre, we have trawled the internet for the funniest quips, quotes, comments, status updates and putdowns… all for your pleasure. Volume 1 contains over 80 updates that will have you in stitches. Almost all spelling errors have been left in to shame the guilty (especially where that’s the joke). Enjoy!

Books Brought

I brought two books this week. The first was The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling. I have been looking forward to this book all year and so pleased to finally get my hands on it!

Synopsis -When Barry Fairbrother dies in his early forties, the town of Pagford is left in shock.

 Pagford is, seemingly, an English idyll, with a cobbled market square and an ancient abbey, but what lies behind the pretty facade is a town at war.

Rich at war with poor, teenagers at war with their parents, wives at war with their husbands, teachers at war with their pupils… Pagford is not what it first seems.

 And the empty seat left by Barry on the parish council soon becomes the catalyst for the biggest war the town has yet seen. Who will triumph in an election fraught with passion, duplicity and unexpected revelations?

The second book i got was The Labrinth of Osiris by Paul Sussman. I got sent this book from the Transworld publishers and this is the last one in the reading challenge. It does sound very good!

Synopsis -Since they last met, life has moved on for Yusuf Khalifa of the Luxor Police and Jerusalem detective Arieh Ben-Roe. About to become a father for the first time, Ben-Roi finds himself investigating a gruesome murder in Jerusalem’s Armenian Cathedral. The victim, a journalist named Rivka Kleinberg, had been researching an article into the Israeli sex-trafficking industry. When a link emerges between Kleinberg and an English engineer who disappeared from Luxor in 1931, Ben-Roi turns for help to his old friend and sparring partner Khalifa.

 

Khalifa’s life too has changed, although in his case not for the better. Preoccupied with personal tragedy and immersed in an investigation of his own – a series of mysterious well-poisonings in Egypt’s Eastern desert – he agrees for old time’s sake to do some digging for his Israeli colleague. In the process Ben-Roi might just be giving Khalifa his lust for life back.

 

Inexorably the two investigations entwine, drawing Ben-Roi and Khalifa into a sinister web of violence, abuse, corporate malpractice and anti-capitalist terrorism. And at the heart of the web lies the Labyrinth – a three-thousand year-old ancient Egyptian mystery that has already taken Rivka Kleinberg’s life – and hers will not be the last…

So, What Are You Reading?

7 Responses to “Its Monday! What Are You Reading? (1st October)”

  1. Sheila (Book Journey) October 1, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    I love Picoult too! Looks like a wonderful reading week for you!

    • shelovestoread October 1, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

      thank you 🙂 I cant wait to get stuck into some of these 🙂

  2. Tanya Patrice October 1, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    I haven’t gotten the JK Rowling book yet, but I’m so excited to read it too. Hope you have another great reading week 🙂

    • shelovestoread October 2, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

      thank you 🙂 I cant wait to start reading it 🙂

  3. Tea Time with Marce October 2, 2012 at 2:47 am #

    I prefer Kristin Hannah over JodiP but they always intrigue me. The FB book looks super funny.

    • shelovestoread October 2, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

      I havent read any of her books, ill have to look out for them 🙂

  4. Briana October 12, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

    I’d love to see what you think of The Casual Vacancy. I don’t think any of the blogs I read have reviewed it yet. Personally, I’m not too interested. I wasn’t planning to read it for awhile, but once it came out that it’s very “adult” I lost even more interest. Ah, well. I’m still interested in others’ thoughts.

Leave a Reply

