Booking Through Thursday – Burn

11 Oct

 

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly bookish meme held over on Booking Through Thursday!

If your house was burning down and you could save just one book from your collection … what would it be?

(And, for the purposes of this discussion, we’ll allow series to count as “one” long, multi-volume book.)

Can i cheat and save my kindle? that has over 150 books on at the minute and i would be very upset if i lost that!

If we are talking actual books i would like to save Little Lord Fauntleroy by Frances Hodgeson Bennett. Its a hardback book that belonged to my Grandmother. This book was actually brought by her Mother and is over 100 years old. It is so precious to me I’ve never read it for fear of damaging it.

 

16 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Burn”

  1. Lizzy's Dark Fiction October 11, 2012 at 8:40 am #

    Why didn’t I think of my Kindle? Well…Amazon is pretty good at keeping copies of all the books online. I’d still be pretty pissed if I had to redownload all my books.

    • shelovestoread October 14, 2012 at 9:00 am #

      hehe, i think it would take me a long time to get all my books back on my kindle i have over 150 on there at the minute!

  2. laurelrainsnow October 11, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    After I went through various choices, I thought why not the Kindle? Here’s MY BTT POST

  3. Tanya Patrice October 11, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    If I had an eReader, that’s what I would save too. And my laptop of course.

  4. Michael October 11, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    I like your answers. I’m fortunate that most of my books could be replace. Not easily mind you, but they could be.

    • shelovestoread October 14, 2012 at 9:01 am #

      indeed, id just have trouble remembering the titles of them all!

    • shelovestoread October 14, 2012 at 9:02 am #

      thank you, now going to check your answer out 🙂

  5. DawnTreader October 11, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    I just got a Kindle a week ago and that came to mind for me too 😉 But I agree it would be wiser to save an old book with sentimental value
    You’ll find my answer here

    • shelovestoread October 14, 2012 at 9:03 am #

      welcome to the kindle club 🙂 maybe id just grab both 🙂

  6. Briana October 12, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    The Kindle is probably a smart choice.

    I’m always ridiculously practical in that i think I would save the most expensive, or maybe something that’s out of print that would be hard to buy again. I always wonder if it would be worth it to make a small section of “books to save” that all grouped together, maybe with a bag hanging nearby so I can grab them and run. 😉

    • shelovestoread October 14, 2012 at 9:04 am #

      hehe, in fairness i would be sad to loose any of my books in fairness!

Leave a Reply

