The Casual Vacancy – J. K. Rowling

3 Nov

Started – 21/10/12

Finished – 27/10/12

Format – Hardback Book

Synopsis – When Barry Fairbrother dies in his early forties, the town of Pagford is left in shock.

Pagford is, seemingly, an English idyll, with a cobbled market square and an ancient abbey, but what lies behind the pretty facade is a town at war.

Rich at war with poor, teenagers at war with their parents, wives at war with their husbands, teachers at war with their pupils… Pagford is not what it first seems.

And the empty seat left by Barry on the parish council soon becomes the catalyst for the biggest war the town has yet seen. Who will triumph in an election fraught with passion, duplicity and unexpected revelations?

A big novel about a small town, The Casual Vacancy is J.K. Rowling’s first novel for adults. It is the work of a storyteller like no other.

My Thoughts – I have been looking forward to reading this book since it was announced earlier this year. J. K. Rowling is my favourite author of all time and I was so excited that she was going to release another book.

This book is about a small town called Pagford and the people that live there. It is a simple English town or villiage and it really made me feel like it could have been set anywhere. To me it really made me think that this town was a very similar place to where i live now.

There are a lot of characters in this book and it did confuse me a little bit because i couldnt always remember who was who to start with but towards the middle i had managed to get this through my head. I did like how the different characters had different chapters and by doing this the reader was able to grasp there thoughts and feelings which for me was a good thing. I love books that read like this.

I know that this book is a book for adults but even so it does have themes about prostitution, bribery, violience, drugs and all things like that. I think that it worked within this book and it wasnt too over the top and i think it actually added to the theme of the book, that a lot of things go one behind closed doors that others do not know about.

The ending of this book was so sad and i had to read a couple of pages a few times to make sure i was reading it right. It actually made me cry a little bit and this is quite unusual for me with a book, it does only happen once in a while.

I have read a few reviews that have said that this book is not Harry Potter. No its not Harry Potter, its a completely different book and to be honest im very pleased that she has written something very different. It just shows that she is a very talented author and i throughly have enjoyed ALL of her books!

Rating – 5/5

4 Responses to “The Casual Vacancy – J. K. Rowling”

  1. beckyday6 November 3, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

    Can’t wait to read this!

    • shelovestoread November 3, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

      its a brilliant book 😀 look forward to your thoughts 🙂

  2. Briana November 3, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

    I’ve seen such diverse reviews of this book. I personally am not interested in reading it, but I’m glad you enjoyed it! And I do think it’s unfair that people are upset “It isn’t Harry Potter.” Well, no.

    • shelovestoread November 4, 2012 at 10:47 am #

      thank you 🙂 I wouldnt force any book on anyone if they didnt want to read it 🙂 each to there own 😀

Leave a Reply

