Its Monday! What Are You Reading? (Bonfire Night)

5 Nov

 

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly bookish meme held on Book Journey by Sheila. It’s a great place to discuss your week in reading and see what others are reading too.

I didnt take part last week as i was away on holiday so this week is a combination of the two.

Books Read

Over the past two weeks ive read two books. The first one was The Casual Vacancy by J. K. Rowling. I was looking forward to reading this book for a long time when it was annocunced and i was finally able to pick up a copy. I really enjoyed this book and although its as far away from her normal style of writing as you can get i loved it!

The second book i finished was The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein. This book was the choice for the November reading circle and i really enjoyed it. Although the ending was very sad i am a sucker for animal books and this one was very good.

Reading Now

At the minute I’m reading Trixie Trader by Helen Dunne. Back in 2010 i went through a chick lit stage and brought loads and loads of this genre of book. I’ve read most of them now but this is one of the last remaining. I’m only a few pages in so i havent really got much to say on it yet!

Next Up

Next up is a book on my kindle, The Marlow Conspiracy by M. G. Scarsbrook. I downloaded this book back in January when it was free so I’ll have to see if i like it πŸ™‚

Synopsis – Christopher Marlowe and William Shakespeare team-up to expose a high-level government conspiracy…

1593, Elizabethan England: In a turbulent time of wars, famine, and religious persecution, Christopher Marlowe struggles to balance his life as England’s most popular playwright with his duties as a government spy.

Suddenly, when he falls under suspicion of atheism, a capital crime, Marlowe fears his many powerful enemies have launched a conspiracy to have him executed.

With only a few days to clear his name, he quickly enlists the aid of a young William Shakespeare – one of the few friends he can still trust. Together, they race through Marlowe’s tangled life of crime, espionage, and noble connections to expose the conspiracy and save him from the hangman’s noose.

But will anything save a man as troubled as Marlowe?

Books Brought

None this week!

11 Responses to “Its Monday! What Are You Reading? (Bonfire Night)”

  1. ocdreader November 6, 2012 at 12:16 am #

    I am trying to read The Casual Vacancy but other stuff keeps getting in the way! Plus, it was too big to lug on a work trip with me. Oh well – glad to hear you enjoyed it!

    • shelovestoread November 6, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

      i think i should have got it on my kindle as it was so big to hold and carry about! it is good though hope you enjoy it as much as i did πŸ˜€

  2. Brunette Librarian November 6, 2012 at 1:32 am #

    Art of Racing in the Rain is so sad in the end, but a truly good book. Sad but sweet all in one. A great book!!
    Whatcha readin’ this week @ the Brunette Librarian πŸ™‚

    • shelovestoread November 6, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

      It was a lovely book i really enjoyed it πŸ˜€

  3. cricketmuse November 6, 2012 at 3:03 am #

    The Shakespeare book sounds intriguing. I’m rereading To Kill a Mockingbird to refresh so I can teach it to my freshmen. Also listening to Henry James’ Wasington Square.

    • shelovestoread November 6, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

      To kill a Mockingbird is one of my favourite books of all time, i love it!

      • cricketmuse November 6, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

        Don’t remember if I mentioned it but I just read Tallgrass which is like TKAM but set during Japanese internment camps

  4. Tanya Patrice November 6, 2012 at 3:24 am #

    I’ve seen so many mixed reviews of The Casual Vacancy – glad you enjoyed it and I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy.

    • shelovestoread November 6, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

      i loved it, but ive read a few negative reviews too!

  5. Jennifer November 6, 2012 at 2:04 pm #

    I hope you had a lovely vacation πŸ™‚

    One of these days I’ll get to The Casual Vacancy. I’ve heard really good things about The Art of Racing, glad to hear you enjoyed it!

    That Marlowe book sounds like something that is right up my alley, I’d never heard of it! Thanks for the heads up.

    Happy happy reading!

    • shelovestoread November 6, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

      thank you i loved every second of it!

      happy reading to you too πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

