Image

The Marlowe Conspiracy by M. G. Scarsbrook

27 Nov

20121127-210021.jpg

Started – 13/11/12
Finished – 27/11/12
Format – Kindle e-book

Synopsis – 1593, Elizabethan England: In a turbulent time of wars, famine, and religious persecution, Christopher Marlowe struggles to balance his life as England’s most popular playwright with his duties as a government spy.

Suddenly, when he falls under suspicion of atheism, a capital crime, Marlowe fears his many powerful enemies have launched a conspiracy to have him executed.

With only a few days to clear his name, he quickly enlists the aid of a young William Shakespeare – one of the few friends he can still trust. Together, they race through Marlowe’s tangled life of crime, espionage, and noble connections to expose the conspiracy and save him from the hangman’s noose.

My thoughts – I downloaded this book on my kindle earlier in the year as I love Shakespeare and as he appears in this work of fiction I thought this would be a good book to read.

Although Shakespeare appears in this book it’s more about Christopher ‘Kit’ Marlowe and his life as a playwright and also as a spy for the Queen. I wasn’t overly familiar with him before I read this book but as I was reading it I was researching him and others in the book.

Sometimes I find it quite difficult to read about real people in fiction but this book was very well done and I really enjoyed it.

This book was very good and had many twists and turns in the plot. I did enjoy reading this book however as I was ill while reading this book it kind of put me off a little although this should be no reflection on the book itself.

I think many people will enjoy reading this book especially fans of the time period of Elizabeth I and those that are interested in reading about real life people in fiction.

Rating – 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

