On The TBR – The Woman in Black by Susan Hill

17 Jan

On The TBR is a new thing I’m trying out on my blog to try and keep a record of the books i buy and download this year.

I’ve downloaded The Woman in Black by Susan Hill as its the choice for the Reading circle choice for February, not only that its a book that I’ve wanted to read for a long time and I’m glad that I’ve been able to bump it up my reading list a bit.

I havent read any of this authors books before but I’m looking forward to it as many people have said they have enjoyed it. Once i’ve read the book I’ll be able to watch the film based on the same book, starring Daniel Ratcliffe.

Synopsis – Arthur Kipps, a junior solicitor, is summoned to attend the funeral Mrs Alice Drablow, the sole inhabitant of Eel Marsh House, unaware of the tragic secrets which lie hidden behind the shuttered windows. The house stands at the end of a causeway, wreathed in fog and mystery, but it is not until he glimpses a wasted young woman, dressed all in black, at the funeral, that a creeping sense of unease begins to take hold, a feeling deepened by the reluctance of the locals to talk of the woman in black – and her terrible purpose.

I cant wait to get stuck into this book, perfect for these cold dark nights.

One Response to “On The TBR – The Woman in Black by Susan Hill”

  1. beckyday6 January 17, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

    Lol, it still phases me when I come onto your blog and it has a different theme! 😛

Leave a Reply

