January 2013 Book Round Up

1 Feb

Wow how fast did January go? It seemed to fly past so quickly, blink and youll miss it almost.  This month i read 6 books which is about average for me. According to Goodreads I’m 8% of the way to my goal of 80 books this year and I’m on track to reach my target, so a good start to the reading year!

Books Read

1)Chocolat – Joanne Harris (2010 book, paperback book) I really enjoyed this book, the writing style was really nice and i’ve already brought the sequal

2)Fifty Shades Darker – E. L. James (2012 book, e-book) I liked this book more than the first in the series and to be honest they arent as bad as everyone made out!

3)The Tenderness of Wolves – Stef Penney (2013 book, paperback book) I didnt really like this book it was for the reading circle and i struggled to get into it.

4)Replay – Keira Lea (2012 book, e-book) This book was ok, but would have been better if the author had gone into more depth with it.

5)The Borrowers – Mary Norton (2010 book, paperback book) I really loved this little story. perfect for children and adults too!

6)The Borrowers Afield – Mary Norton (2010 book, paperback book) I liked this, not as good as the first one but still good!

Books carried over

I’m currently reading The Woman in Black by Susan Hill. This is the book chosen for the reading circle for the month and i have to say im really liking it, quite creepy but not overly so.

I’m also re-reading Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix and I’ve got to the part where Fred and George are caught by Umbridge.

Reading Challenges

1001 Childrens Books You Must Read – The Borrowers

Ultimate Teen Book Guide Challenge – Chocolat

World Book Night 2012 Longlist – Chocolat

not too bad for the first month but id like to keep this up every month!

Books Brought

The Woman in Black – Susan Hill – This is for the February reading circle
The Lollipop Shoes – Joanne Harris – This is the sequel to Chocolat that i read earlier this month.

Leave a Reply

