Its Monday! What are you Reading? (11th March)

11 Mar

0

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly bookish meme held onBook Journey by Sheila. It’s a great place to discuss your week in reading and see what others are reading too.

I havent taken part in this meme for a couple of weeks because i havent really read much! Its taken me three weeks to read the book that I was reading. I’m just not having the time to pick up books and read at the minute which is so annoying for me! I don’t know when i’ll have more time to read but hopefully i can read a bit more than i have been!

Books Read

I finally finished a book! Its taken me three weeks but ive finally finished Life of Pi by Yann Martel. I really enjoyed this book and have had it on my shelf for the past couple of years but have only just got around to it. I think i would definitaly like to see the movie and really liked the twist at the end i thought it was very clever.

Reading Now

I am currently reading Dangerous Liaisons by Pierre de Laclos. This is the choice for the months reading circle and i have to say im really struggling to get into this book. I dont really get the language and i’m struggling to understand what is going on with it.

Next Up

Next up I’m going to read a book that was brought for me before i went away on holiday, Ground Truth by Patrick Bishop. I read another one of his books a few years back and really enjoyed this so i am hoping this one is as good.

Synopsis – Afghanistan, 2008. After their eighteen-month epic tour of Helmand Province, the troops of 3 Para are back. This time, the weight of experience weighs heavily on their shoulders.

In April 2006 the elite 3 Para Battle Group was despatched to Helmand Province, Afghanistan, on a tour that has become a legend. All that summer the Paras were subjected to relentless Taliban attacks in one of the most gruelling campaigns fought by British troops in modern times.

Two years later the Paras are back in the pounding heat of the Afghanistan front lines. The conflict has changed. The enemy has been forced to adopt new weaponry and tactics. But how much progress are we really making in the war against the insurgents? And is there an end in sight?

In this searing account of 3 Para’s return, bestselling author Patrick Bishop combines gripping, first-person accounts of front-line action with an unflinching look at the hard realities of our involvement in Afghanistan. Writing from a position of exclusive access alongside the Paras, he reveals the ‘ground truth’ of the mission our soldiers have been given. It’s a sombre picture. But shining out from it are stories of courage, comradeship and humour, as well as a gripping account of an epic humanitarian operation through Taliban-infested country to deliver a vitally needed turbine to the Kajaki Dam.

8 Responses to “Its Monday! What are you Reading? (11th March)”

  1. Jennifer March 11, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

    Great minds think alike! I also loved Life of Pi (can’t wait to see the film) and I just started reading Dangerous Liaisons late last night!

    Have a great week!

    • shelovestoread March 12, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

      hehe how strange! How are you finding Dangerous Liaisons?

  2. Sheila (Book Journey) March 11, 2013 at 8:37 pm #

    My reading has been slower recently too… I am spending more time with audio as I can multi task then … laundry, cooking, cleaning, working out.

    • shelovestoread March 12, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

      I really need to look into audio books, maybe then i will read more!

  3. Bookworm Chick March 11, 2013 at 8:59 pm #

    I simply adored Life of Pi! I’ve just started Atwood’s The Blind Assassin.

    • shelovestoread March 12, 2013 at 4:34 pm #

      it seems like a popular book! I want to read The Blind Assassin one day!

  4. Tanya @ Mom's Small Victories March 15, 2013 at 2:47 am #

    I started Life of Pi and couldn’t finish before the eloan expired but need to get it back. I’d really like to finish reading before seeing the movie. Congrats on finishing, it always feels so good to finish that one book that you’ve been working on for so long. That’s how i felt when I finally finished Pride and Prejudice and how I will feel once I finish In The Woods. Here’s my reading list, hope you stop by! New follower here. http://momssmallvictories.com/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-march-11-2013/

    • shelovestoread March 15, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

      thats a shame, in my opininon the end is the best part of the book so if you ever get a chance to read it again do 😀 Congrats on reading Pride and Prejudice its on my list of books to read one day! Thanks for the follow im now going to check out your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

