Its Monday! What are you Reading? (18th March)

18 Mar

0

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly bookish meme held onBook Journey by Sheila. It’s a great place to discuss your week in reading and see what others are reading too.

My reading mojo has really returned this week so I’m hoping that it sticks around for a long time 😀

Books Read

This week i read Dangerous Liaisons by Pierre de Laclos. I have to say i really didnt enjoy this book in the  slightest and I’m glad that it over with. I didnt understand the language at all so that could be why!

Reading Now

I am currently reading Ground Truth by Patrick Bishop. I brought this book about a month ago as i has read his book 3 Para and really enjoyed it. This book is fantastic, it tells the true story of 3 Para and there return to the war in Afghanistan.

Next Up

Next up is a kindle book What is it About Yorkies by Dr Harry Jay. I was going to read this a few weeks back but this time i am going to pick it up.

Synopsis – Dog Training Yorkies – What Is It About Yorkies is about how to potty train a yorkie and training your yorkie puppy. The dog training methods are not different than others but there are some unique dog training tips regarding Yorkies you need to know. So this book offers you the complete Yorkie information. For those of you that follow my writing, my subject matter is usually of a more serious nature. Every once in a while I like to write about a subject that isn’t so serious and my dog is one such subject. But I must add, I usually end of writing about some behavioral science traits that are applicable to the subject matter (I can’t help it; it’s a living.). My dog is a Yorkie and his name is Gage. He weighs all of about 7-pounds and he thinks he is a guard dog. For his size, he literally is not afraid of anything (I live in Southern Utah and watched Gage charge a full grown 14-point stag deer that had to weight about 800 lbs.). He makes me laugh (and cry sometimes) and he has more idiosyncrasies than a manic person or as I like to say, “He has issues!”…

Books Brought

I brought one book this week Lovely Green Eyes by Arnost Lustig. It is a book that has been on my wishlist for a long time and I’m so pleased that ive finally got my hands on it.

Synopsis -Fifteen-year-old Hanka Kaudersová has ginger hair and clear, green eyes. When her family is deported to Auschwitz, her mother, father and younger brother are sent to the gas chamber. By a twist of fate, Hanka is faced with a simple alternative: follow her family, or work in an SS brothel behind the eastern front. She chooses to live, her Aryan looks allowing her to disguise the fact that she is Jewish. As the German army retreats from the Russian front, Hanka battles cold, hunger, fear and shame, sustained by her hatred for the men she entertains, her friendship with the mysterious Estelle, and her fierce, burning desire for life.

3 Responses to “Its Monday! What are you Reading? (18th March)”

  1. Bookworm Chick March 18, 2013 at 11:18 pm #

    I’ve just finished Patti Smith’s Just Kids (loved it loved it loved it!) and started The Lost Stradivarius.

  2. Tanya @ Mom's Small Victories March 19, 2013 at 3:25 am #

    aw sorry you didn’t enjoy Dangerous Liasons. I fell asleep watching the movie so many years ago if that makes you feel any better, I guess I didn’t get it either. I was hoping the book was better. Yorkies are so cute. I have had 4 Westies (West Highland White Terriers) during my lifetime and they are such sweet and loving companions. Enjoy your pet! I miss mine everyday.

  3. Tanya @ Mom's Small Victories March 19, 2013 at 3:27 am #

    oh and I so get it about the small dog mentality. Our Westies are at biggest 20 pounds, certainly not large but they were the best guard dogs. They sounded vicious barking at anyone who would approach the other side of the closed front door, but i bet they would lick to death any burglar who dared to enter. 🙂 Gage sounds like a doll.

Leave a Reply

