It’s Monday! What are you Reading? (22nd April)

22 Apr

0

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly bookish meme held onBook Journey by Sheila. It’s a great place to discuss your week in reading and see what others are reading too.

I’ve had yet another week of extreme busyness! My boyfriend has just gone self employed so things have been busy setting up his new company.

Books Read

I finished one book in the last week, Wolf Hall by Hillary Mantel. This book was picked as the April reading circle choice and i did enjoy it despite the fact its a very big book and took me two weeks to read. It tells the story of Henry VIII and I think I’ll end up picking up the follow up book. I did get a bit stuck on who was who at times though.

Reading Now

I’m currently reading Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. I’m always very wary of reading the classics because I’m a bit hit and miss with them but this is a classic that I am really enjoying. I think this is going to be one of my favourite love stories.

Readng Next

Next up is a book that I got sent from the publishers, His Dark Lady by Victoria Lamb. I read the first book in the series last year and really enjoyed it so I’m hoping this book is as good.

Synopsis -When young, aspiring playwright William Shakespeare encounters Lucy Morgan, one of Queen Elizabeth I’s ladies-in-waiting, the two fall passionately in love. He declares Lucy the inspiration for his work, but what secret is Will hiding from his muse?

 Meanwhile, Lucy has her own secret – and one that could destroy her world if exposed. No longer the chaste maid so valued by the Virgin Queen, she also bore witness to the clandestine wedding of Lettice Knollys and Robert Dudley, a match forbidden by the monarch.

 England is in peril. Queen Elizabeth’s health is deteriorating, her throne under siege from Catholic plotters and threats of war with Spain. Faced with deciding the fate of her long-term prisoner, Mary, Queen of Scots, she needs a trusted circle of advisors around her now more than ever. But who can she turn to when those closest to her have proved disloyal?

 And how secure is Lucy’s position at court, now that she has learned the dangerous art of keeping secrets?

Books Brought

None this week.

3 Responses to “It’s Monday! What are you Reading? (22nd April)”

  1. Book Blather April 22, 2013 at 3:33 pm #

    Oh, the intrigue in His Dark Lady sounds good! Hilary Mantel has won the booker prize twice now (with books 1 and 2 in this series), so I think I shall have to face these eventually – but I’m typically not a fan of history novels. Historical romances yes, historical novels no. We shall see. Have a great reading week!

    • shelovestoread April 23, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

      I have to say i read Wolf Hall quicker than i probably would have done because it was picked for the reading circle last month! Have a great week too 🙂

  2. Charlotte April 25, 2013 at 5:44 pm #

    Just finished reading Knots and Crosses and started Haunted Grounds.

Leave a Reply

