The Crimson Petal and the White – Michel Faber

15 Jun

Started – 16/5/13

Finished – 15/6/13

Format – Paperback Book

 

Challenges – Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge

Synopsis – Keep your wits about you; you will need them …’ So begins this irresistible voyage into the dark side of Victorian London. Amongst an unforgettable cast of low-lifes, physicians, businessmen and prostitutes, meet our heroine Sugar, a young woman trying to drag herself up from the gutter any way she can. Be prepared for a mesmerising tale of passion, intrigue, ambition and revenge.

 

My Thoughts – I picked this book up as it was the reading circle book from last month. I had already got it on my TBR pile so it was the perfect opertunity for me to read the book earlier than I thought.

 

This book is about Sugar, a prostitute in Victorian London and her meetings with William Rackham of Rackham Perfumes and how there lives become entwined. It is definitaly a book of how the other half live with Sugar to start with living in complete poverty and William living in a wealthy house paid for by his father who set up the perfume company.

 

Not only Sugar and William feature prominatly in the book. There is also Williams wife Agnes who is not a very well lady and has a lot of issues but also William and Agnes’ daughter Sophie Rackham.

 

This book i felt was brilliant. I really enjoyed the story behind it and how many different twists and turns there were to the plot line. It is also a very unique writing style and i really got into this one straight away. The only thing i didnt like was the abrupt ending. I would have liked it to go on a bit more.

 

I loved how the character of Sugar developed too. She started off so headstrong and knew what she wanted and ended up almost loosing the plot. There is a fair bit of adult parts of the book however with the subject matter in question I do feel that it needed to be in there.

 

a much recommended book. It is a big book and it did take me a month to read but this in no reflection of the story, i loved it.

 

Rating – 5/5

5 Responses to “The Crimson Petal and the White – Michel Faber”

  1. mnleona June 15, 2013 at 8:32 pm #

    Good review. I think I will add to my TBR list also.

    • shelovestoread June 16, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

      Thank you, look forward to hearing your thoughts on it!

  2. beckyday6 June 17, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

    Hey bookworm! How you been? I haven’t seen you around these parts much lately! 🙂

    • shelovestoread June 19, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

      Heya, Im not exactly good but I’m getting there! I’ve had bad health issues and I’ve had to quit my job because of harrasment and books have suffered because of it 😦 But things are slowly getting better so reading should go up a bit now! How are you?

      • beckyday6 June 19, 2013 at 3:21 pm #

        Ohhh no, I’m so sorry to hear that, it sounds awful! You know what they say, often lots of bad things happen together so hopefully you will be in the all clear now. 🙂 At least books will always be there whether you take five minutes of five years away from them, constant companions they are.

        I’m good thank you, just finished my first year of university and I can’t believe how quickly it went!

Leave a Reply

