Tag Archives: crime

Whiskey From Small Glasses -Denzil Meyrick – Book Review

23 Nov

61cEzMZsPKL._AA300_

Format – Audiobook

Synopsis – DCI Jim Daley is sent from the city to investigate a murder after the body of a woman is washed up on an idyllic beach on the West Coast of Scotland. Far away from urban resources, he finds himself a stranger in a close-knit community.

Love, betrayal, fear and death stalk the small town, as Daley investigates a case that becomes more deadly than he could possibly imagine, in this compelling Scottish crime novel infused with intrigue and dark humour.

My Thoughts – I downloaded this book on the 3 for 2 audible offer a few weeks back. thrillers are fast becoming one of my favourite genres of books and I’m very much enjoying listening to crime thrillers.

This book centres on DCI Jim Daley – a Scottish detective that is asked to investigate a gruesome murder in a small rural village. It also tells a lot of his personal life – in the form of his relationship with his wife Liz. I didn’t understand to start with why this was talked about in detail but as the book went on I started to grasp why.

This book was ok – i enjoyed the plot and I did work out who was the murderer fairly early on and there was a good few plot twists too. Overall a good story – I might continue the series in the future if I come across it as its book #1 of 5 in the series.

Rating – 3/5

The Murderers’ Son – Joy Ellis * Book Review *

9 Nov

51mIt14b-nL._AA300_

Format – audiobook

Series – DI Jackman #1 (although #2 by audible)

Synopsis –¬†Crimebusting duo DI Jackman and DS Evans are back, solving another crime that will make your skin crawl.

Twenty years ago: a farmer and his wife are cut to pieces by a ruthless serial killer.

Now: a woman is viciously stabbed to death in the upmarket kitchen of her beautiful house on the edge of the marshes.

Then a man called Daniel Kinder walks into Saltern police station and confesses to the murder.

But DI Rowan Jackman and DS Marie Evans of the Fenland Constabulary soon discover that there is a lot more to Daniel than meets the eye. He has no memory of the first five years of his life and has a rather unusual obsession with his mother….

Full of twists and turns, this is a crime thriller that will keep you gripped until the shocking ending.

My Thoughts – I had this book on pre-order as I enjoyed the first book on audible (Their Lost Daughters) so much!

This book is a return to DI Jackman and DS Evans and the Fen murders. As I’m originally from that area it appeals to me a lot as I had a really good idea of the area in which it was set and recognised a lot of places that were discussed. In this book another brutal murder has taken place and they have a confession from a man but no evidence to back up his story.

The plot was really good – full of twists and turns again and although I had managed to work out the plot it really didn’t ruin it for me – it was brilliant! I am really enjoying this authors books. The next one is released on Audible in December and it is already on my wish list. I can’t wait for more – very enjoyable.

Rating – 4/5

Their Lost Daughters – Joy Ellis * Book Review *

4 Sep

40553263

Format – Audiobook

Synopsis – Introducing Audible Exclusive Their Lost Daughters, the first in the Jackman and Evans crime series, written by Joy Ellis, Audible’s breakthrough crime author of 2018.

Deep in the muddy fields of the Lincolnshire Fens, a teenage girl is found wandering, delirious, claiming to have been drugged at a party. Metres away, the drowned body of another girl is found on an isolated beach. And all this on a small stretch of land where, nearly 10 years ago, the shocking disappearance of a young girl remains an open case.

For DI Rowan Jackman and DS Marie Evans, the pressure is on to bring the perpetrators of these shocking crimes to justice. Are the crimes linked? Who are these young girls? And what on earth is going on under the green and pastured land of the Lincolnshire Fens?

An Amazon Kindle number one best seller, Their Lost Daughters by Joy Ellis is performed by the incredible Richard Armitage (The Hobbit) and available exclusively at Audible. Be prepared for your pulse to rise and your nights to be disturbed as our breakthrough crime author of 2018 weaves her dark web of mystery. Perfect for fans of Sarah A. Denzil, LJ Ross and Denzil Meyrick.

My Thoughts – I’ve recently got into listening to audiobooks while I’m driving and this is the first fiction book that I’ve actually listened to in a very long time.

This is about two detectives Jackman and Evans and them trying to solve a few crimes set in the Lincolnshire Fens. This book really appealed to me as I live not too far from the Lincolnshire Fens (well I used too) so a lot of the areas mentioned and villages I was a little bit familar with.

This book was brilliantly written – every time I thought I had worked out the plot it twisted and turned again and I was left with more questions to be answered. Thankfully at the end of the book everything was tied up however it kept me guessing to the very end. I was almost sitting in the car at the end of every journey just waiting to hear more and more!

It was also narrated brilliantly – I have come across some audiobooks and while they sound really good the narration puts me off – but this was brilliant.

Joy Ellis has written more books in this series – the next to listen to according to audible is The Murderer’s Son which isnt out on audible for another few weeks (16/10/2018) but I’ve already pre-ordered it!

There is also another series that she has written based in the same area that I’m also going to buy to listen to.

An amazing book that I cant wait to get more into this authors works!

Rating – 5/5

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd – Agatha Christie

8 Nov

Challenges – BCF November Reading Circle
1001 Books to Read
501 Must Read Books

Synopsis – Roger Ackroyd knew too much. He knew that the woman he loved had poisoned her brutal first husband. He suspected also that someone had been blackmailing her. Now, tragically, came the news that she had taken her own life with a drug overdose. But the evening post brought Roger one last fatal scrap of information. Unfortunately, before he could finish the letter, he was stabbed to death!

My Thoughts – I read this book as part of the November reading circle on the BCF. I was a little apprehensive to start with as my nan is a huge fan of Agatha Christie and i didnt know if it was my type of book. Well, this just goes to show how much you shouldnt judge a book before you read it. I enjoyed this book so much, Agatha Christie has now gone into my top author list!

The story centres on Dr Sheppard who discovers a murder has taken place, when it looks like the wrong person is going to get the blame, Poirot is asked to investigate the crime. I had heard of Poirot before, mainly due to the television series, so i had a bit of an idea of how to picture him.

The book had so many twists and turns to it. I couldnt keep up on who was the suspected murderer, and when i did have a guess, i got it totally and utterly wrong. I couldnt help but try to work out the clues in my head as i went along, but I’m not ashamed to say i got it wrong most of the time. I think this enhnaced my enjoyment of the book a lot more!

I was so shocked by the twist at the end. i actually had to read it several times just to make sure that i had read it correctly. i would say that it was the best twist that i have read in a book for a long time.

This was my first Agatha Christie book and i really want to read more of them. A brilliant book recommended for crime/thriller fans faithful and also to those new to it.

Rating – 5/5