Booking Through Thursday (3rd Feb)

3 Feb

This weeks question is

“How would a teen-age boy who is going to work with his hands ever use Literature of England in his work?”

The age-old “How am I going to use this in real life?” question. How would you answer it?

This is a question that ive heard many times. I would say that Literature broadens your mind and makes you think about things more, it opens your mind to loads more possibilities. It makes you think that everything is possible.

Literature isnt just about the words. It inspires you. It makes you believe in yourself. It makes you realise that anything is possible if you put your mind to it.

That is how you use it in real life. It is not only about picking a book up and reading the words off the page, its more about the momentos that are left behind in your head long after the book is closed.

9 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday (3rd Feb)”

  1. Anthony North February 3, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    So very true. Literature fulfils life. You’ll find mine here.

  2. DawnTreader February 3, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Good answer. Here is mine:
    Beyond the Lone Islands

  3. MizB February 3, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    Great answer! I liked where you said that it’s what’s left behind… that would be my take on it, too. It’s not so much what you’re reading at the time, but what the stories leave with you in the end (or what you learn from the nonfiction, if that’s what you’re reading, that you can take away and use).

  4. Barbara H. February 3, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Very true. Reading exercise and influences our minds.

  5. dragonflyy419 February 3, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    I love the closing line here … it is what is left behind after the book is closed that is so important. Beautifully said!

  6. gautami tripathy February 3, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    Wonderful way to put it…

    Here is my BTT: Real Life post!

  7. Lori February 3, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    Pretty answer I actually didn’t like the question…Partly because I didn’t understand it, LOL Partly because I realized I learned nothing from the books I read. Booking Through Thursday

  8. Joy Weese Moll February 4, 2011 at 1:45 am #

    Yep. I like the bit about what’s left behind in your mind after reading, too.

Leave a comment