Its Monday! What are you Reading? (29th August)

29 Aug

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly bookish meme held over on book journey. Ive had quite a busy book week this week, eepecially as its a bank holiday here!

Books Read – My reading is still on a high this week! I managed another two books this last week and am about a third of the way through another!

The first book i finished this week was The Other Womans Shoes by Adele Parks. I loved loved loved this book! It is chick lit, but this book is actually true to real life! The characters seemed so real and the plot was realistic too. I flew through this book really quickly despite its size and really enjoyed it! The best thing is Adele Parks even commented on my blog post on here! Squeal!!! Will definitaly be reading more books!

The second book i finished was Up all Night by Carmen Reid. I finished this over the long weekend while i was staying at my boyfriends so i havent had time to review it yet, will do that tonight though! I enjoyed this book, but it was very samey to several books that i have read recently, so im taking a break from chick lit for a little while

 

 

Reading Now – I’m currently reading A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers. This was picked as a group read over on the BCF for the Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge that i take part in. I hadnt actually heard of this book until it was picked but im really enjoying it so far. Its already made me cry and laugh so in my book, its a good book!

Up Next – i have a choice of a couple of books to read next. if my next book comes for The Transworld Book Group Reading Challenge i shall read that, but if not ill read My Fabulous Divorce by Claire Dowling. I’ve read another book by this author and i wasnt to impressed, but im giving her another go!

Books Brought – okay, so I’ve gone a little bit mad on the book buying this week! i brought 13 yes 13! books eek! These were;

1) The Memory Keepers Daughter – Kim Edwards. This book has been on my wishlist for ages and I’m glad i finally got it!

2)The Jane Austen Book Club – Karen Joy Fowler. This is another wishlist book, but i think i’ll leave off reading this for a while until ive read some Austen books.

3)Sense and Sensibility Jane Austen – Having never read an Austen, i thought this one would be a good place to start!

4)The Princess Diaries – Meg Cabot. This book is on several of my reading challenge book lists and have been looking out for this one for years!

5)The Ruby in the Smoke – Phillip Pullman. Another reading challenge book, but i wanted to read this having seen its been turned into a tv series.

6)Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte. I havent ever read this, but know the plot to this. have been wanting to read this for years!

7)A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius – Dave Eggers. This was brought for the Rory Challenge, and I’m alredy reading this!

8)The Infidel – Bob Shepard. This is written by an ex SAS soldier and i quite enjoy reading books like this so i’m giving this one a go!

9)The Girl who Loved Tom Gordon – Stephen King. I’ve never read a stephen king book so i decided to pick this one up to give it a go!

10)Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens. I havent read this before either, only seen the musical version so i want to give this a go too!

11)The Choice – Nicolas Sparks. I’ve brought a few Nicolas Sparks books this year already, and havent heard of this one before so picked this one up too!

12)Oh Carol! – Carol McGiffin. This is the autobiography of one of the loose women panellists and have been after this for a while!

13)Picture Perfect – Jodi Picoult. i love Picoult books and this is one of the few that i havent already read!

I think I’ve brought enough books for one week 🙂

 

 

12 Responses to “Its Monday! What are you Reading? (29th August)”

  1. laurelrainsnow August 29, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    I like you book list. Several of these books look really good! Thanks for sharing….

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  2. Jennifer August 29, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    You have an excellent selection of book. Enjoy!
    My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2011/08/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-54.html

  3. Sheila (Book Journey) August 29, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    I love reading highs! Have an awesome week!

    • shelovestoread August 31, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

      Me too 😀 hope i can keep it up 😀

      Happy Reading Week 😀

  4. Lisa @ Lost in Literature August 30, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    My Fabulous Divorce sounds cute. Happy reading this week! 🙂

    My Monday

    Lisa @ Lost in Literature

    • shelovestoread August 31, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 definitaly an easy reading book 🙂

      Happy Reading 🙂

  5. Rachel August 30, 2011 at 2:28 am #

    Sounds like you had some great books to read last week. And I am jealous about all those great books you’ve just bought!

    • shelovestoread August 31, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

      I had a really good buying session! And all under £10 for the lot!

  6. Angelica August 31, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    Some fantastic books! Have a fantastic week.

Leave a comment