Archive | 11:14 am

February 2012 Book Round Up

2 Mar

I have had quite a good book month this month, especially considering i had 10 days that i couldnt read anything, because i was poorly 😦 I read 7 books this month which brings me up to 14 books for the year. I have a target of 75 books and according to goodreads i am 17% of the way there, and two books ahead of my target as i type.

Books Read

8)The Golden Acorn – Catherine Cooper (e-book, 2011 book) I really enjoyed this book, i downloaded this as part of the 12 days of Kindle sale. Its about a young boy that is given magical powers. I enjoyed it that much that i have already brought the sequel.

9)Frozen in Time – Ali Sparkes (e-book, 2011 book) I really enjoyed this young adult story. This was another that was downloaded from the 12 days of Kindle. this is about two children that have been frozen in the 1960s and wake up in modern times. This was good, i would have liked it longer though.

10)The Love Trainer – Julia Llewellyn (paperback book, 2010 book) This book was one that i didnt enjoy as much. It was a chick lit book, but some of the characters really didnt appeal to me.

11)The Secret Holocaust Diaries – Nonna Bannister. (e-book, 2012 book) This was a book that i think everyone should read. It is a true story about a woman who is the only member of her family to survive the holocaust. it made me cry a lot, truely harrowing reading, but one that everyone should read. A kindle freebie.

12)Mistress Masham’s Repose – T. H. White (paperback, 2012 book) I read this as part of the reading circle for the BCF for the month. I really liked this childrens tale and it has made me want to bump gullivers travels higher up my TBR pile, which this book is loosely based on.

13)Out of Time – Deborah Truscott (e-book, 2012 book) I downloaded this as it was free for a day. This was a book that compramised of romance, fantasy and historical fiction, a great combination in my opinion. A great read.

14) Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azcaban – J. K. Rowling. (paperback book, re-read) This is my favourite book of the series and i always love this book, it is the only one that doesnt involve voldemort, but i think that it is essential to the story.

Books Carried Over

Emotional Geology – Linda Gillard. This is so poetic, i love it! I am reading this in book form.

I Want it Now! – Julie Dawn Cole. This is a memoir on the set of Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – J. K. Rowling. I am continuing with the series.

Book Challenges

1001 Childrens Books You Must Read – 1 book this month, Mistress Mashams Repose.

Books Brought

I downloaded a lot! of freebies this month so im not going to list them, but i only paid for three books this month!

Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck
Glasruhen Gate – Catherine Cooper
Pied Piper – Neville Shute