Archive | 6:51 pm

Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom by Tamara Hancock

28 Mar

Started – 23/3/12

Finished – 24/3/12

Format – Kindle e-book

 

Synopsis – I have five children and a full-time work at home job. When most people hear this, they stand with their eyes wide open and their jaws on the floor.
Being a Stay At Home Mom is work, whether you have a “job” in addition to the title of “Mom” or not. We all find ourselves in places of overwhelming frustration from time to time, feeling very inadequate for the “job”. This feeling of inadequacy and fear of failure is only compounded when you run into other moms who seem so fully put together and “perfect” you can’t possibly measure up.
The secret to success is knowing that there are others out there, just like you, and they aren’t perfect either. These Confessions are to put into perspective the things we do from day to day, and to help other Stay At Home Moms see that no-body’s perfect, we just manage things differently.


My Thoughts – I downloaded this book as it was free for the day over on Amazon. I did think by the title and synopsis that this would be a memoir and it would be about a parent working full time and being a full time parent too. unfortunately this was not the case. It is a book about a full time working mum who goes into how to manage time and your life.

 

Now i am not a parent, yet!, and this just didnt seem like it was aimed at me at all. It was all based on to do lists and schedules. Now i do like these things, but to live your whole life by them? Now this is a bit too much even by my standards.

 

Maybe i would have enjoyed this more if i was a parent, trying to work and bring up children. But at the minute I’m not. Maybe it will be one for me to revisit in a few years time when it might be more relevant. I did carry on reading hoping it would go a bit more like a memoir, but unfortunately it didnt. This wasnt a book for me.

 

Rating – 2/5

WWW Wednesdays (28th March)

28 Mar

WWW Wednesdays is a weekly meme held over on Should Be Reading. To play along just answer the following questions.

What are you currently reading?

In book form I’m currently reading Strike Back by Chris Ryan. I do enjoy the modern war type books having taking a dip into my boyfriends books. This is my first by this author and I’m hoping that its going to be good. Its started well though.

On my kindle I’m reading The Firestone Crystal by Linda M. David. This book is very good. Young adult, a sulky child gets the adventure of a lifetime when she goes to summer school in outer space, but there are some other issues and foul play too. I’m really enjoying this book.

What did you recently finish reading?

Over the past week I finished 4 books! I was off work for a few days and my reading really picked up!

The first book i read wasNothing But the Truth by John Barnes. This was a memoir about the life of a police officer in britain. What made it good was he was just an ordinary guy, which added to the brilliance of the book. This one is very highly recommended.

The next book i read was Grimms Fairy Tales by the Brothers Grimm. Now while i was familiar with some of these tales, i wasnt familiar with them all. I could really imagine  myself reading these stories to a child. a fantastic book. I do wish it had all the stories in though, I’m going to keep a look out for even more of them now.

The next book i read was Confessions of a Stay at Home Mom by Tamara Hancock. I was so disappointed with this book, i thought it was going to be a memoir, but instead it was a how to run your life with kid’s guide. I’m really not a fan of how to books, so for me this was not a book i enjoyed.

The final book i read was One Child by Torey Hayden. This was one of those real life books about troubled children. I enjoyed this book, but it was so upsetting and the treatment of the child in question was horrific. All i wanted to do was cuddle the poor little girl.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Next up off my huge TBR pile is The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult. I absolutely adore her books and am trying to read all of her books. This is one of the books that i havent yet read, i cant wait to get around to it!