Archive | 5:18 pm

Its Monday! What are you Reading? (12th March)

12 Mar

Its Monday! What are you Reading? is a weekly meme held over on Book Journey. Its a brilliant place for book bloggers and readers to gather there thoughts on the bookish week today.

I had a busy personal week, i had my birthday (my 22nd!) on Friday and was out and about most of the weekend.

Books Read

I finished one book last week, Emotional Geology by Linda Gillard. I loved loved loved this book! I will be writing a proper post on this book over the next couple of days but the writing in this book was absolutly lovely. It was so poetic and sometimes a little haunting, but good all the same. I mentioned this book in another post on my blog and the author saw the post and commented. I’ve never been so thrilled, its my first contact with an author of which i have read their book.

Currently Reading

In book form I’m currently reading Witchfinder: Dawn of the Demontide by William Hussey. I won this in a competion back in 2010 and i was a little bit unsure as sometimes fantasy can overwelm me a little bit. I needent have worried though becuase I’m really enjoying it and cant wait to read more.

In kindle form I’m currently reading The Rise of April (Pirates of the Savannah #3) I am really enjoying this trilogy, one that i would definitely recommend. It was just a shame i didnt have much time to read this over the weekend.

Reading Next

Next up off my huge TBR pile is One Child by Torey Hayden. This isnt my normal type of book but it was recommended to me by the owner of an independent book shop who said it was good, so I brought it just to give it a go.

The Synopsis – Six-year-old Sheila was abandoned by her mother on a highway when she was four. A survivor of horrific abuse, she never spoke, never cried, and was placed in a class for severely retarded children after committing an atrocious act of violence against another child. Everyone thought Sheila was beyond salvation – except her teacher, Torey Hayden. With patience, skill, and abiding love, she fought long and hard to release a haunted little girl from her secret nightmare – and nurture the spark of genius she recognised trapped within Sheila’s silence. This is the remarkable story of their journey together – an odyssey of hope, courage, and inspiring devotion that opened the heart and mind of one lost child to a new world of discovery and joy.

Books Brought

I brought one book in the last week, The Time Travellers Wife by Audrey Niffeneger. I am probably one of the only people not to have had the chance to read the book, so I’ve finally got around to buying it.

Synopsis – This is the extraordinary love story of Clare and Henry who met when Clare was six and Henry was thirty-six, and were married when Clare was twenty-two and Henry thirty. Impossible but true, because Henry suffers from a rare condition where his genetic clock periodically resets and he finds himself pulled suddenly into his past or future. In the face of this force they can neither prevent nor control, Henry and Clare’s struggle to lead normal lives is both intensely moving and entirely unforgettable.