Booking Through Thursday – Anything You Can Do I Can Do Better!

22 Mar

A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Patricia asks a particularly insightful question:

Ever read a book you thought you could have written better yourself?

In a word No. Now I’m not just saying that for the easy answer and the get out clause, i really dont think that there is a book that i could have written better.

Now I have read some great books and some truly awful books too. I’m mentioning no names or titles as i dont want to offend anybody but i would say that a lot is down to personal choice and not a reflection on the book or author, mostly!

So, why couldnt i do any better? Simply because i am no writer, at all. I might be a big bookworm and love reading others work, but my writing is truly awful as a whole. So, while i say that i didnt enjoy a book, i just dont think that i could do ant better.

14 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Anything You Can Do I Can Do Better!”

  1. Aspen March 22, 2012 at 8:31 am #

    good answer. I respect it, since I had a similar one as well. I would love to be a writer but I respect author choices and the fact that books are published as they are for a reason 🙂
    hop on over to my BTT if you have the time!
    http://inner-aspen.blogspot.com/2012/03/booking-through-thursday-can-i-do-it.html

    happy thursday!
    ~aspen
    ps. I took a look at your Rory Gilmore challenge. I lovee the Gilmore Girls so I may need to jump in on that one! it made me smile 🙂

    • shelovestoread March 22, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

      I’ll have to pop across and check out your anser then as its simular to mine 🙂 I’d just feel bad critising others work when i know i couldnt do any better

      Yay! give the Rory challenge a go, I’ve come across many a good book because of this challenge 🙂

  2. Gigi Ann March 22, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    I would never even try to write a book over. But there are times that I wonder where the editor was, did the editor even read the book.

    • shelovestoread March 22, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

      hehe, maybe the editor didnt, that could be the problem!

  3. Cathy March 22, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    It’s so very true. I am not a writer I think that’s close to the first thing I put on my response. here’s my BTT

    • shelovestoread March 22, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

      I’m going to check your answer out, just to compare notes 🙂

  4. Michael March 22, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    I’ve read a lot of books that I’ve felt could and should be better edited. But that’s just all those English classes coming back….

    • shelovestoread March 22, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

      I did english at A level, but i never did any editing or anything like that 🙂

  5. wcs53 March 22, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

    Great answer. Pretty similar to my thoughts as well: http://wcs53.wordpress.com/2012/03/22/booking-through-thursday-mar-22/

  6. mostraum March 22, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    That’s pretty much what I’m thinking too.

  7. Briana March 27, 2012 at 7:16 am #

    I initially thought this sounded like a pretty arrogant question when I saw it on another blog. Then I realized that this was my sentiment about Twilight! But when I thought I could do it better, I meant I could write a mediocre vampire novel that at least attempted to have a plot and that had a more kick-ass female protagonist. I’m not claiming it would have ended up as a literary masterpiece. And I really do admire anyone who can actually stick it out and write an entire book, regardless of whether I like the end result or not. I just eventually stop every story I try to write!

    And I agree with the commenter above; I think there are books I could have edited better. But it’s totally different (easier, in my opinion) to look at something where most of the hard work is done (inventing plot line, characters, etc.) and point out where it could be improved. To some extent, knowing where a book could be better just comes from your own reaction while reading it. Inventing the book in the first place is difficult!

    • shelovestoread March 27, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

      exactly my thoughts on this question. Editing is a lot easier, because all you have to do is just read the text, not have to come up with it!

Leave a comment